Florence, Italy

Long overdue, but here are some pics from my weekend trip April 15-18. It was my first time traveling alone. I had flown alone before, but never to a country where I did not know anyone and stayed alone. It was a bit nerve-wracking at first, but as I started to walk around th city, I became more comfortable. I was trying to save money, so I didn’t end up going into the big museums and all that. Instead, I visited the Boboli Gardens which was by far my favorite part of the trip. It is HUGE. I highly suggest a visit if you are ever in Florence. It was a beautiful day and I spent hours exploring the park, taking pictures of the trees and statues and just enjoying being surrounded by green. I also just explored the streets of Florence, often walking at random just to see what I saw. On the last day, I rented a bike and biked around a little, but mostly along the river on a bike trail that led me way outside the city. It was pretty enough, but after realizing I was in the middle of nowhere, I turned around and headed back. My hotel was a bit shabby, but right in the middle of the center and just one street over from the Cathedral and the Duomo. There was a terrace on the roof from which there was a great view of it. And yes, what they say is true, the food is absolutely delicious. Best gelato and pizza I have ever tasted and some great other dishes as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

